Day 7 – Clearwater, FL (Carlouel YC)

Day 7 – Thu 5 Oct 2023
Docked – Clearwater, FL (Carlouel YC)

Well, you knew Bud was going to have a grand adventure at some point, right? I got him in harness at 0530 and he jumped off the side of the boat to the floating dock. I had to use the transom steps and cannot hold the lead at that point, so I usually toss it down to the dock and pick it up a few moments later.

The lead got fouled on the dock cleat and he took only several seconds to pull out of the harness (cats can turn to liquid when they want to). What followed was me trying to casually chase him in the dark, but he made it a game and always stayed a few steps ahead of me. It was a pretty and tortuous path through all the foliage and walkways until several hundred yards later, we encountered the property fence.

Bud slipped right between the bars and since the fence gate was padlocked shut, I could not follow. I have been in this situation before and the only thing to do is go back to the boat with the confidence that he will find his way back before too long. About 20 minutes later I walked up to use the shoreside facilities and found him on the dock walking towards the boat as I returned. I am sure he wishes he could have that freedom at every stop.

About 0900, I said hello to the 4 boat visitors near us and was handed a morning cocktail of pear juice, a strip of cooked bacon, and some alcohol (probably vodka). It was unexpected and surprisingly tasty. We had a great time sharing stories and they were eager to hit the beach at low tide, as Diane had previously suggested.

Just a few of the treasures from the beach

Diane arranged for beach chairs and an umbrella, and we went over at 1030, near low tide. The shelling was the best we have done in many years and we came back with many new treasures. Our new friends were similarly thrilled.

A crab only let me get close enough for a fuzzy photo

After a simple, healthy lunch aboard, I spent several hours in the pool reading while Diane went back to the beach. After a long nap, we ate chili and Broccoli for supper.

I took Bud out at dusk and started a chat with a nice couple who turned out to be new members. One of their friends arrived, whom I had met the previous day, and we all had a terrific time getting to know each other for an hour or more.

It was soon time for us to call it a night after a very enjoyable day. Tomorrow, we move early to the Clearwater Yacht Club just a half hour south of us.

Leave a comment